Filipino Spirituality is fervently expressed during Holy Week through Visita Iglesia on Holy Thursday. History embedded this practice of visiting seven Churches while emulating the Passion of Christ.
Let PIRKKO & TROYTOURS, INC. take you to the province of Pangasinan for a gaping experience of Filipino Spirituality, Culture and Culinary. Early morning assembly at a designated pick up a point in Quezon City (TBA). Departure on board air-conditioned bus with packed breakfast. Our Carmelite Spiritual Director shall facilitate religious activities.
Nope, we are not taking you to seven Churches. We are going to visit nine very important Churches – all rich in history, culture and spirituality
Visita Iglesia, which translates literally to “church visit” in Spanish, means to explore churches with prayer, meditation and full acknowledgement of Jesus’ sufferings. It is a Holy Week tradition of Roman origin, which is practiced by a number of Filipino Christians by visiting at least seven churches usually starting Maundy Thursday.
The province of Pangasinan, which is situated at the western area of the island of Luzon along the Lingayen Gulf and South China Sea, the third biggest province in the whole Philippine Archipelago derived its name from salt or “asin” in the vernacular. Owing to the rich and fine salt beds which were the prime source of livelihood for the province’s coastal towns, PanagASINan or “Pangasinan” which means “where salt is made” came to be its name. Pangasinan boasts of stretches of white, sandy beaches, verdant hills, scenic terrains, caves, waterfalls, ancient Hispanic churches, and miraculous destinations for devotees. These are the 9 catholic churches
and religious destinations spread out in Rizal that you will be visiting:
Parish of the Holy Child – Binalonan, Pangasinan
An 1841 (19th century architecture) Sto. Niño Parish Church in Binalonan, 2436 Pangasinan, Philippines), in under the jurisdiction of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Lingayen-Dagupan, Roman Catholic Diocese of Urdaneta. Its Feast Day is 3rd Sunday of January.
Parish of Our Lady of Holy Rosary Manaoag – Manaoag,Pangasinan
Located on top of a hill in the town, has been canonically affiliated with the Papal Basilica of Saint Mary Major in Rome since June 2011. The Augustinians built the first Chapel of Santa Monica (the original name of Manaoag) in 1600, at the site of the present graveyard. It was served by the friars from the town of Lingayen, who were succeeded by the Dominicans in 1605 and served from the town of Mangaldan.
St. Hyacinth Parish – San Jacinto, Pangasinan
The 1590 Parish Church of St. Hyacinth (Vicariate of Sto. Tomas de Aquino, San Jacinto, Pangasinan, is under the jurisdiction of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Lingayen-Dagupan, Roman Catholic Diocese of Urdaneta Vicariate III: Queen of the Most Holy Rosary)
Santo Tomas De Aquinas Parish – Mangaldan, Pangasinan
The Dominicans created it as an independent parish under the patronage of St. Thomas Aquinas on June 2, 1600. Its first church was of regular proportions. The second church of Mangaldan was finished in 1812. It collapsed during the great earthquake of March 16, 1892. The construction of the convent dates back to 1747. The construction of the present church was begun in 1942 by Fr. Juan Sison and was completed 20 years later by Fr. Leon Bitanga.
Parish of Saint John the Evangelist – Dagupan, Pangasinan
Also known as the Dagupan Cathedral, it is located along Burgos Street in Dagupan, Pangasinan. It is the cathedral of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Lingayen-Dagupan. Its titular head is Archbishop Socrates B. Villegas.Parish of Saints Peter and Paul Calasiao,Pangasinan Commonly known as Calasiao Church is a baroque church located in Poblacion West, Calasiao, Pangasinan, Philippines. It belongs to the Vicariate of Sts. Peter and Paul under the Ecclesiastical Province of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of
Lingayen-Dagupan. Built in several stages from the 17th to 19th centuries by the Dominicans, the best-preserved Pangasinan church bell tower and some parts have been reconstructed because of massive earthquakes.
Holy Family Parish Church – Santa Barbara, Pangasinan
First started out as a wooden church until 1792 where the retablo was installed that perhaps signaled the completion of the construction works.
Saint Iidephonse of Seville Parish Church – Malasiqui, Pangasinan
Formerly a chapel under the parish of San Carlos. Father Juan Camacho was appointed first kura paroko and founded the parish in 1665. The 1660 Revolt caused the transfer from San Carlos to its present site at the town of Malasiqui in 1661-1662. The church celebrates its feast every January 23.
Cathedral of Our Lady of the Immaculate Concepcion – Urdaneta,Pangasinan
Urdaneta is one of the biggest town in the province of Pangasinan. The construction of the old church was started by Fr. Rafael Cano on March 4, 1884. When finished, it was 77.10 meters long and 23.30 meters wide and had three naves. It was,however, destroyed by the American bombings in January 1945.
For reservations or more information about this tour, please contact us on any of the following:
(02) 989 3861 * 899 1362 * 667 3445 * 687 5206
0918 921-8850 (Smart) * 0917 871 3861 (Globe)
0922 833-4405 / 0922 833-4404 (Sun Cellular)